Our School


Ruyton Girls’ School is located in the heart of Kew, seven kilometres east of Melbourne’s CBD, and close to public transport and school bus routes.

Set in landscaped gardens, Ruyton is fortunate to have a single–site campus where Early Learning,  Junior School and Senior School are all linked. This fosters a strong sense of belonging, which manifests itself in a whole-school approach, with students, staff and parents working together as part of one school community.

Ruyton was established in 1878, and its buildings reflect a combination of the old and the new. At the heart of the School is the heritage protected Moreton Bay Fig tree, standing loyal and true, just like our motto, ‘Recte et fideliter’. We recognise the importance of providing the best possible learning environment for our students and staff, and traditional buildings integrate with modern facilities.

Ruyton has state-of-the-art learning centres, including the new Margaret McRae Centre (Year 7 and 8, Science laboratories and Drama spaces), the Jacobs Gillies Building (Art studios, Photography facilities and the Senior Study Centre, a dedicated space for Year 11 and 12 students) and the Royce Theatre. The redevelopment of our Junior School buildings has reimagined learning with its open and collaborative learning spaces. The Ruyton Aquatic Centre and the John Bate PE Centre complete the School’s comprehensive Physical Education, Health and Wellbeing facility.

Our Strategic Directions incorporate plans for a new Performing Arts Centre. 

Click here for a map of the School.
Click here for a map of available parking.